To taste or not to taste? That is the question.

I loved reading this little article featured in Olive magazine so thought I’d see what you all think.  Personally I am in the ‘firm no’ court as I am yet to find a tasting menu that is a) decently priced b) full of things I actually want to try and c) small enough to actually get through!

I would rather take my time over three full courses (you don’t have to clean your plate after all) and really be able to savour the flavours, rather than getting only 3 mouthfuls and then moving onto something you don’t like as much and wish you had just had the course before!! Having said that I guess if you can only go somewhere once in a lifetime and you reaaaaally want to test out all the chefs skills then perhaps there is some merit in the tasting menu. Just sometimes.

What do you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “To taste or not to taste? That is the question.

  1. My favorite meal in recent memory was an amazing restaurant in which we ordered courses of the menu, but were surprised by a constant outpouring from the kitchen of special amuse-bouches put together by the chef. We had the option to try or pass on each one. Definitely the best of both worlds!
    xo
    gramercyboutique.blogspot.com

  2. No, not a fan. Friends of mine did this at a fancy restaurant and a. spent a fortune on food that they were b. not so keen on.
    Cupcake

  3. I’ve had a few tasting menus, and I do think that only ones that are value for money are from Japanese restaurants, the chef’s Omakase tasting menu. Anywhere else, I just shudder when they bring me the amuse bouche. My bouche is rarely amused 😉

    http://www.styleonthecouch.wordpress.com
    http://www.twitter.com/styleonthecouch

Leave a Reply

