Unattainable beauty???

We had a conversation on Red Umbrella Chronicles a while ago on the pro’s and cons of retouching. Certainly there are many different opinions on this matter, and real differences in just how comfortable us ladies are with this concept.  Added value or false impressions? Enhanced beauty or unattainable perfection? Measured improvement or extreme change? Too much or just enough?

The jury is still out on whether it is acceptable or not, but it is certainly an impressive skill when one can improve and build on an already beautiful image and make it that little bit more perfect and appealing. Each image can take up to 14 days of exact detail and attention.

So whilst I am not taking away from the skill in developing such picture perfect photos, I guess the question I am posing is, should we bother or should we simply appreciate the natural, the real and the untouched?

See what you think of the below and make your call….

Via: http://www.segeriusbruceblog.com
14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Unattainable beauty???

  1. It’s unfortunate. It puts such high expectations on young girls, when the reality is even the models aren’t that perfect.
    cupcake

  2. Agree with cupcake! What we see in magazines it’s not real anf if your skin or body is not perfect they will make it perfect! I think there are so many stunning models out there and they dont need re-touching but unfortunately nobody would publish their pictures! So I guess we have no choice but I love the examaples you posted. xx
    stylebyjblog.blogspot.com

  3. I think touching the color of the skins or just few blemishes is ok, but ligthen up the color of your skin, making the models skinnier than its supposed to be, now thats a big no no
    I for the preference like models who have curve instead straight and skinny

    http://reserveradefashion.blogspot.com

  4. I know there are morality aspects, but i prefer looking at retouched pictures in the magazines. It just looks more professional in some way.

  5. While edited pictures look better, and definitely more flattering, I’m still a believer of the untouched. x

  6. I say that it’s fine as long as the people looking at magazine covers (especially young girls) realize that they’ve been retouched. Human skin is rarely so matte and perfect-looking.
    I have to say though that I really don’t like the homogenization, if you will, of many images today. A lot look like it’s the same person simply with a different hairstyle…

  7. I honestly believe that as long as these young girls acknowledge the fact that they have been airbrushed and are not perfect as they seem to be, then it’s ok. However, I firmly believe that when these magazines say these girls are natural I highly disagree. If they are going to state these models are natural and no makeup, then don’t airbrush them so that we can see the real beauty, the realism. Airbrushed and retouched does not mean natural – that’s only covering up their blemishes, dark spots, freckles, etc.

    I love this post, and I appreciate you sharing with us so that we can all speak up on this. 🙂

    xoxo,
    MelRod

  8. I think as long as the retouching is minor and used to clean up an image rather than completely alter someone’s appearance it’s fine. I work in advertising and we retouch every single image, mainly to create the illusion of light, remove obvious wrinkles and reduce dark spots or blemishes. One could argue that women do the same thing on a daily basis with make-up. I do think it’s ridiculous to make someone thinner, have higher cheekbones, create bigger eyes etc. via retouching though.

  9. I feel like not all of the photos need retouching, and they actually look extremely beautiful without the added “gloss and finish”. How natural the model looks actually adds appeal to the photos!

  10. In some of these photos, the retouching doesn’t really enhance the model’s appearance. It simply looks like the lighting has been improved, which doesn’t have much to do with the model herself. However, on some other photos, the difference is obvious. While natural beauty is always commendable, for magazines, like Antonia said, I much prefer having that fantasy aspect.

    http://red-soledfashionista.blogspot.com/

  11. I think retouching is fine if it’s one in moderation but I also think that fashion is all about illusion and fantasy so I don’t mind looking at flawless pictures. People should realize that real people don’t look like that! xoxoxoxo

  12. I have to say that I think retouching photos is fine, provided the message is definitely out there that it happens in ads. I understand how it can put pressure on girls but if they know that nobody really looks like that, some of that pressure is certainly removed.
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and for your sweet comment! Yours is fab; I can’t wait for more!
    xo Josie
    http://winksmilestyle.blogspot.com

  13. The Red Umbrella Chronicles

    So thrilled to hear all your opinions. Thank you so much for sharing them with me and giving me so much to think about!

  14. What a great discussion! I enjoyed reading it, everyone here seems to have a healthy opinion about it!

Leave a Reply

